Day 26/30: Get your bitchass in the kitchen and bake me some pies!

I decided at some point last night while I was near sleep that I needed to bake pies for tomorrow. I didn’t have the ingredients for these pies, but needed to bake them nonetheless. Which meant that I needed to make a trip to the grocery store tonight at some point. FYI – 8pm the day before Thanksgiving is not a bad time to hit your local grocery store. My local Shop n’ Save was really not that busy at all, which is totally what I was hoping for by waiting forgetting to go earlier.

And now, as I write this, I have one pie in the oven and one in the fridge waiting for the oven.

One of my favorite pies and one I am somewhat known for in the family is a Coconut Buttermilk Pie. The recipe was in the local paper several years ago, although I’ve tweaked it a bit to fit my own tastes. It very much resembles the original recipe, I just tend to double or triple the coconut content and always ALWAYS use real butter.

Coconut Buttermilk Pie (pre-baking)
Coconut Buttermilk Pie (pre-baking)*

I know you’re dying for the recipe, right?

Old Fashioned Buttermilk Pie

  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick) melted & cooled slightly
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 4 heaping tbsp flour
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tsp vanilla (I always use real vanilla, too. None of that extract stuff)
  • 2-3 cups coconut (depending on how much you like it – the original recipe only calls for 1 cup)
  • 1 unbaked deep dish pie crust (I use the Pet Ritz ones I find in the freezer section)

Oven: Preheated to 350ºF
I’ve already told you to melt your butter in a separate bowl. In a large bowl, beat the eggs until smooth. Then stir in your sugar and flour until it’s blended. Then add the buttermilk, vanilla, & butter. Fold in coconut.
Once you’ve got that all mixed together, pour into the pie crust. I also like to sprinkle a little coconut on top to give it a little extra oomph. Bake for about 40 minutes, it’s done when the filling isn’t too jiggly and the crust is golden brown. The recipe says “serve warm”, which I agree is super good, but it is just as delicious at room temperature or even cold out of the fridge (especially with a tall glass of milk. YUM.)

Caramel Apple Pie
Caramel Apple Pie*

The Caramel Apple Pie is equally as delicious, maybe even more so now that I am all kinds of addicted to fruit, but I don’t make it as often because it usually requires more work – it requires 6 cups of sliced apples! But this time I cheated and used the ones that were already sliced. It made life much easier. The original recipe is here and I pretty much follow it to the letter. Except, y’know, sometimes I add extra pecans. But for ease of baking, here is what I do:

  • One frozen deep dish pie crust & 1 refrigerated pie crust (for the top – you could use 2 of these and eliminate the frozen one if you have an actual pie pan, which I do not).
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 6 cups thinly sliced apples – I used granny smith – they’re so yummy in baking!
  • 1/2 cup caramel ice cream topping
  • 1/3-1/2 cup chopped pecans
  1. Preheat oven and cookie sheet to 400º F.
  2. Stir together the sugar, cornstarch and cinnamon. Toss with the apples in a mixing bowl.
  3. Pour the mixture into the first unbaked pie shell then drizzle the caramel topping over the top. Sprinkle with pecans. Place the second pie shell over this and flute the edges. Cut slits in the top crust to allow steam to escape then place on preheated cookie sheet.
  4. Bake 45-50 minutes, until golden brown. Cool for 1 hour before slicing. Top with whipped topping, if desired.

I found with this pie this time I had a lot of apples for one pie. But hey, I still put them all in the crust and baked that bad boy.

I’ll never be the next great chef since I never make up my own recipes, but I do seem to know how to pick great recipes by looking at the ingredients and occasionally tweaking the ingredients.

I had not originally intended to go into the whole cooking/recipe aspect of the pies, but since I did I am going to cross-post this over at The Kitchen Mirror.

*I know you can’t really tell much by the pictures, but I can almost guarantee that I’ll take more tomorrow once both pies have been dug into at the different events I’ll be attending.

