Day 25/30: Pirate ghosts!

While driving back from the NIN show on Friday, A & I were discussing random things, like how we would both like to do dirty things to Trent Reznor and how he would be in danger of getting licked should he ever get too close to either of us. I mean, c’mon – boy is HOT even if he is a little musclebound lately.

Look at the yummy up there in shiny pants. Not many other men in their 40s could pull off shiny pants, but on him it works.

I digress.

One of the subjects that came up on the ride home were musical artists we find interesting – not necessarily people either of us find attractive, but people that we think would be fascinating to sit down and talk to. In fact, with the exception of Mr. Reznor, I don’t think any people on my list were people I would find attractive at all. But they are all fascinating folks.

My list, in no particular order:

  • Rob Zombie – I have heard him in interviews before and he’s highly intelligent. Someone you could have a stimulating intellectual conversation with, but also someone who is just weird enough that you want to know what is going on in his brain.
  • Jonathan Davis (from Korn) – I think he mostly made the list because the band did an episode of South Park that cracked me up. And, well, he’s weird. So very weird, yet married and a parent. And DUDE – I just nabbed this bit of info from Wikipedia: “Davis’ earliest musical inspiration as a child was the Andrew Lloyd Webber musical “Jesus Christ Superstar”.”
  • Marilyn Manson – Again, saw him on Letterman once and was amazed at the interview. Sure, dude is odd, but fascinating.
  • David Bowie – Do I need to explain? I mean, it’s BOWIE. He is also really the only person left on my list of people to see in concert at least once. I don’t know if it’ll happen, but a girl can dream.
  • Trent Reznor – Of course. But, y’know, I would have to refrain from licking him until after our little chat, during which I would make him dinner. Because it’s just nice to make dinner for the person whose personal space you might try to violate later.

I think the psychologist in me just wants to pick apart their brains – these are all intelligent people who have made some interesting life decisions that have really worked in their favor. What is it about these five guys that made them what they are? Do they all share some personality characteristic? Do I need to pick up a copy of Malcolm Gladwell’s newest book Outliers and read it now? (The answer to that last question is yes. Yes I do.)

2 thoughts on “Day 25/30: Pirate ghosts!

  1. I always said I’d like to be stuck in jury duty with Tom Waits. I’m sure he’d have some fascinating stories to tell to pass the time.

    Marilyn Manson
    I thought he was great in Bowling For Columbine. Absolutely not a fan of his music, but he’s weirdly elegant. Sort of.

  2. One of my old friends’ cousin was Rob Zombie’s guitarist (maybe bassist?)…he met Rob on many occasions and said the guess is a freakin’ genius. After his movies though, you have to wonder how OFF he might be.

Comments are closed.