Day 23/30: I just made you up

As you know, I headed out on Friday afternoon with Nominimom for the Nine Inch Nails show in Columbia. We ate at Shakespeare’s Pizza when we got into town, it was yummy. Blah Blah Blah. You don’t care about my dinner or the car ride, do you?

Let’s talk for a moment about the opening act, Boris. When a band is described as “Expermental Japanese Rock”, that is exactly what you get. They were…interesting. I was enthralled, but at the same time I really wanted earplugs. There was a lot of intentional feedback, there were a lot of times I couldn’t hear the vocals over the rest of the band. The drummer, though, was something else. He was very dramatic, very charismatic (y’know, for someone behind a drum kit), and for me, he is probably what saved the performance. I feel the need to check out some of their music outside of the live setting, but I’m not sure I will like what I hear. And really, I don’t know how else to describe them.

As for Trent and the boys. As this was my fifth NIN show, I knew what to expect. I knew it would be awesome. I knew Trent would be hot (even if he has been looking a little ‘roided up lately). And, well, it was everything I expected. It was a great show, we had pretty sweet seats, and the band sounded great. The stage show was, as always, amazing. We got a good hour and a half of music, including the instrumental interludes (which, y’know were good and all, but something I could do without).

I don’t know if there is anything I can say about the concert experience that I haven’t said before. The band is always tight, Trent surrounds himself with amazing musicians. There was a brief moment of technical difficulties during the show, but it didn’t bring down the energy of the show at all. During the encore, Trent talked quite a bit. He introduced the band, talked to the audience, and I was amazed. It was the most I have ever heard him speak.

While we were waiting between acts, we couldn’t help but notice that the girl in front of us had a NIN tattoo. Now, I’m not gonna lie – I have toyed with the idea of one myself. But I won’t do it for the same reason I won’t get a knitting tattoo – I don’t want something that permanent related to a hobby or music I might not like in 20 years. But that’s not what I wanted to talk about. So, the girl was with a guy who didn’t really look to be all that into NIN. He had kind of the typical frat boy look and wasn’t even wearing black or a dark color. Which made me think that he was totally there because it was her band, y’know? And honestly, if I was dating a guy willing to go to a NIN concert with me even if he didn’t like them, thing would probably work out in his favor ifyouknowwhatimean. But it got me thinking – how would one feel knowing that you are dating someone who likes a band enough to get a tattoo & that it’s a band you aren’t fond of? What if it was something that could be a dealbreaker if you knew early on (say, if it was a Creed or Nickelback tattoo), but you didn’t find out until a couple months in? Would you feel inadequate at some point? This is the random thought process of my brain, people.

I tried to get some good pictures with my phone, but most of them didn’t turn out so hot. I wish I had brought my camera in with me, but I figured that it wouldn’t be allowed (as with most shows I’ve been to). Of course, everyone and their brother had brought cameras in.

I am sure that I’m forgetting something I wanted to remember. Ah, well, the brain is not what it used to be.

Setlist after the jump for those interested.

Setlist:

999,999
1,000,000
Letting You
Discipline
March of the Pigs
Head Down
The Frail
The Wretched
Closer
Gave Up
Me, I’m Not
The Great Destroyer
5 Ghosts I
17 Ghosts II
19 Ghosts III
Piggy
Pinion
Wish
Terrible Lie
Survivalism
31 Ghosts IV
Only
The Hand That Feeds
Head Like a Hole

Encore:
Echoplex
The Good Soldier
Hurt
In This Twilight

One thought on “Day 23/30: I just made you up

  1. Jeff didn’t bat an eye when he saw my Taylor Dayne tattoo. And his Brad Paisley tattoo? A little odd, I suppose. But not a dealbreaker.

Comments are closed.