Day 16/30: In which I go to the library with a camera.

Yesterday I took a trip downtown to visit the main branch of the St. Louis Public Library. I needed a book immediately and they were the only branch who had a copy.*

I had been there before, but never beyond the first floor. To say that the building is impressive is an underestimation. I have a thing for architectural elements – pictures I take when I’m away from home would prove that. I think sometimes I have more pictures of the built environment in larger cities than I do of anything else. The Central Branch of the Library is one of those buildings I love for those elements and it’s in an area of interesting elements, at least interesting to me.

Central Library

While I’ve been carrying my camera with me wherever I go all month, I haven’t quite conquered that fear of looking silly taking pictures in the city I live in. I have no issues with it when I’m a tourist, but for some reason feel a little odd trying to take pictures with my point ‘n shoot camera around town. So I snapped a few shots quite quickly, almost Kinnearing them into existence.

Stained Glass, Library

Of course, it was also an overcast, windy, and cold day, so I didn’t want to spend too much time outside. Not to mention it made for some gray picture conditions.

Turtle!

I keep saying that I’m going to head various places in the city and just walk around to take pictures. Maybe this spring I’ll set up a little photo walk – I see so many places and things that I think could make for interesting photography and we can’t guarantee that all of them will be around forever.
*The fact that they had the original copy from 1958 and not the update from 1993 is a different story.

2 thoughts on “Day 16/30: In which I go to the library with a camera.

  1. Thanks for being willing to look silly (I always feel the same way, but especially when I’m doing things like taking pictures of leaves in the front yard) because you’ve got a gorgeous library! I love the turtle in particular. They don’t make ’em like that anymore.

Comments are closed.