Day 7/30: A taste of something different

sodas

I recently* found myself at La Tropicana for lunch for the first time where I ate some very tasty food and tried out one of the imported** sodas. While I was there, I decided to pick up a few different ones to try out and see what I thought.

Materva
Materva was the one I had tried during lunch. While I liked it then, I wanted to see if I still liked it when I wasn’t eating yummy Cuban food. It reminds me of a cream soda, only with a hint of spicyness* from the mate that gives the soda its name. I quite liked this one. So much so that I went back to La Tropicana and bought a 6-pack of it. Twice. It might become a new favorite of mine.

jupina
Jupiña, or Pineapple soda was the next one I tried. First impressions were that it was extremely sweet, almost syrupy with a strong smell of pineapple. I’m not sure about there actually being the taste of pineapple in the soda, though. The sweetness is almost overpowering. Not one I’d try again, I think.

coco rico

Co Co Rico was soda number 3. It’s got a very mild coconut flavor and reminds me a bit of a fizzy Piña Colada. This one isn’t too sweet, and the overall flavor is mild. This one was also quite tasty.

*Recent is a relative term. At the time I started writing this post, it was only a week or so since I had been there. Now it’s been a couple months. Well, better late than never, I suppose.

**Not hot spicy, more like the spice you get from ginger although it doesn’t taste anything like ginger.

Note: This is the first of 3 or 4 drafts that have been mostly written and I never published for some reason. And since I’m still recovering from yesterday’s “surgery”, I figured I’d take it easy and just finish up this draft.

2 thoughts on “Day 7/30: A taste of something different

  1. What if you mixed the coconut with the pineapple and poured it over ice? Oh! Or maybe use it to make that punch Sandy makes?

Comments are closed.