teach you how to jive and wail

When I was in Target the other day looking at the hand weights (of which I already need heavier ones), I saw what looked like it would be a fun workout video from the dancers on Dancing with the Stars. Now, I am not a watcher of the show, nor do I plan to be. But a cardio workout where I also learn some actual dance moves? I can get behind that.

So a few days ago I was reordering a book I needed for my classes this semester (long story) and decided to get the DVD too, especially as it was much cheaper there than at Target.

Well, the DVD came in today and I popped it in the DVD player tonight and proceeded to get my ass kicked by the Paso Doble, Cha Cha, Jive, and Samba. Now, I’m sure I didn’t do too bad for the first time through, but I was completely uncoordinated. I either couldn’t get my feet to do the same moves as the dancers or I couldn’t keep up. Either way, I didn’t catch on too quickly or really at all. But it was a great way to burn off some calories. Or a lot of calories.

So, yes, I will totally be doing this again. And maybe someday I’ll actually be coordinated, but I really wanted to remember this whole uncoordinated and ass-kicked phase of my workouts.

5 thoughts on “teach you how to jive and wail

  1. I have found the problem with these videos is that the performers are facing you therefore making you do the moves iwith the opposite foot which is confusing. they should show the demonstrator from the back so you move as they do.

  2. Honey if I can make it through a year of tap lessons, with my uncoordinated feet, you can do it too! Give yourself some time, Rome wasn’t built in a day.

  3. Good for you!

    I always figure that as long as I’m getting sweaty, I’m burning the calories. Maybe you’re coming up with your OWN dance steps!

Comments are closed.