you ain’t so tough, come fill my little world right up

Thanks to everyone for the support on my “get healthy” plan. This isn’t going to turn into a weight loss blog, but I will probably update y’all on my progress from time to time.

What’s amazing to me is how much better I feel by just having a plan. I know it’s just mental so far, but I am absolutely amazed at the change just having made this decision, laying out the goals, and committing to the plan has made. I feel lighter, I feel positive, and I feel for the first time really that this is something I can accomplish.

I’m also finding it easier to make healthier eating choices, or at least to take stock of the nutritional value of the food I’m eating & not to “waste” my calories on food that isn’t even that good (there was sub-par cheese involved in today’s lunch. I ate 2 cubes and decided that it was not worth it).

But I have just realized how completely out of shape I am. I mean, I knew I was out of shape, but DAMN.  I took a look at the videos on SparkPeople (they have videos! Did you know that? Free workout videos!) and did a short 10 minute “jump start” cardio one. I stuck with the low impact version of the video and, hello, broke a sweat during a 10-minute video! But that combined with my walk to class today* from work (1.2 miles round trip) made for quite the amount of exercise.

*During which I discovered that I totally walk in time with whatever was playing on my iPod. You shoulda seen me walking strutting to a little Kanye West this afternoon. I’ve also been doing a lot more walking – to Mindy’s house, to the library, will be walking to Mindy’s and then yarn shop tomorrow after work – instead of driving to places that are close enough to walk to. I’m also hoping the weather will cooperate and allow me to walk around the park that’s about 2 blocks away a few times on Saturday mornings for the next few weeks.

3 thoughts on “you ain’t so tough, come fill my little world right up

  1. If you have an MP3 player, try browsing the exercise music mixes at FitMusic. They have music for any type of activity you’d want to do!

  2. Too many years of marching band did the same thing to me…I totally walk/run to the beat. It’s very annoying if I have a “slower” song on there…

  3. ten minutes of exercise a day is all you need! that’s cool that they have free exercise videos online though. glad to hear you’re feeling good about your new plan. good luck!

Comments are closed.