I manipulate to recreate

Thanks everyone for the nice comments on my sewing endeavors. You’re a great bunch of enablers. :)

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about my sewing habit. I think we can safely call it a habit now, at least.

I initially learned to sew when I was young – my mom was an avid sewer and taught me the basics. Of course, as with most of the things I learned when I was young (or tried to learn), I lost interest in my teenage years and left the sewing to my mom.

It’s only been in the past year or so that I’ve taken to sitting in front of a sewing machine again, trying to figure out if I remembered how to do more than sew a straight line. Well, so far I’ve only done things that require straight lines at different angles. But I feel like everything was already wired into my brain, I just needed the right tools to retrieve the information.

Now that I’m a little better at the whole sewing thing, I’d like to take it to the next level and try to design some purses of my own to sell in my etsy shop. This starts with purse 1.0. Step 2 is figuring out the zipper thing*.  You will, of course, be the first to know when I’ve succeeded.

*Which, Amy in StL, I’m so glad you shared your method – it’s totally the way I was thinking about doing it, so it’s nice to have some verification of that method. :)

