No Reservations

Dear Anthony Bourdain,

I’ve been doing some catching up on the show since my last letter to you. We can thank iTunes & being able to watch things on Ferris the iPod through my TV. I can’t tell you how exciting that is, really. I mean – I can watch whatever I download on my TV with just a cheap cord from Radio Shack. So awesome. Seriously. But I digress.

I still think you need to come visit St. Louis. Or maybe do a Kansas City/St. Louis hybrid show if you don’t think you can get an hour of viewable television out of our fair city. Hell, I’ll do KC with you, too. A little burnt ends sammich from Arthur Bryant’s? I am so there.

I’ve been making a list of the places you should visit in the St. Louis area – we can’t just hit St. Louis, there are too many places to visit just a short drive out of the city.

So, in no particular order, here are just a few of the places I think you should visit in the area:

  • Oberle Meats – This is a Ste. Genevieve based business. I haven’t actually been to the restaurant/deli, but I hear it’s good. I picked them because I was raised on Oberle Sausage, which is (of course) made by Oberle Meats. It’s a beef/pork sausage that I would say is similar to summer sausage only, y’know, delicious. There was a time when I could eat an entire pound or so in one night. Seriously.
  • The National Tiger Sanctuary – Obviously, no food involved unless you manage to get into the cages somehow, then you become the food. But it would take a lot of effort to do that – the couple who run the sanctuary have raised the tigers since they were cubs and they’re very careful & knowledgeable about the animals. It’s one of our best kept secrets.
  • Dexter BBQ – This one is a little bit of a drive, but it’ll get you some Southeastern Missouri BBQ – I do love a BBQ sammich with a heap of slaw on it. Trust me, it’s fantastic. They have four locations, but it’s a Dexter, Missouri based “chain”. I’ve been known to make the drive to the closest one (which is about 100 miles away) just to get a fix.
  • Ted Drewes Frozen Custard – It’s a given. Ted Drewes is a St. Louis landmark and I would venture to say that they make the finest banana split in the city. At least they are the finest ones I’ve ever had.
  • Imo’s Pizza – Another St. Louis tradition, loved by those born & bred in St. Louis and pretty much universally disliked by the rest of the world. But something you have to try once. It’s true St. Louis style pizza, processed Provel cheese and all.
  • Toasted Ravioli – This is not a place, but a St. Louis thing. I’ll even go on a research mission to find the best in town (not that it would be a sacrifice to do that – I love toasted ravioli with a passion I usually reserve for my love of cheese).
  • At least one of our local chocolate/candy places. The trip wouldn’t be complete without a visit to Merb’s, Crown Candy Kitchen, or Chocolate Chocolate Chocolate.

I’m sure we could find a lot more places for you to visit in the area. Even if you wanted to go to one of our higher end (read: fancy schmancy) places, you wouldn’t have to suit up. Jeans are pretty much acceptable wear everywhere in St. Louis.

Anyway, Tony, come to St. Louis. I promise to show you a great city on the Mississippi River. I might even be convinced to take a ride to the top of the Arch.

Sincerely,

Kara

