There is a time.

Hurricane Katrina took out a big chunk of New Orleans the day after my mom had the stroke that ultimately took her away from us. At the time, I was quite obviously preoccupied with what was going on in my own life. I didn’t avoid news of Katrina, but I also didn’t seek it out. I didn’t watch the news. I didn’t listen to what was going on. Somewhere in the back of my head, I knew how bad it was, but I couldn’t watch what was going on in one of my favorite cities. Sure, I donated a bit of money to the Red Cross at the time, but that was about it.

It’s been 10 years since I last visited New Orleans, but the city worked its way into my soul. It’s a part of who I am, who I’ve become in my life. It’s important that New Orleans recover and that we don’t forget what happened.

I spent part of my Friday night catching up on watching some episodes of No Reservations, including my first viewing of the New Orleans episode filmed last year. Seeing the destruction that was still there, IS still there, moved me. It saddened me that there’s still so much destruction, people are still fighting to survive in post-Katrina New Orleans. It’s not that I didn’t know about it, but I didn’t SEE it until now. It’s almost 3 years after Katrina and New Orleans still needs help to rebuild.

And I want to help. But I am going through financial woes of my own at the moment, so here’s what I can do for now. I can knit. And you can help. (Please click through for details)

Go here – it’s the New Orleans Habitat For Humanity site – and donate at least $20. If you want to donate to a specific fund (not just the General one), go for it. Personally, I’d choose Musician’s Village. But you don’t have to do that to win. Send me a copy of the reciept via email (starmonkeybrass (at) gmail (dot) com) – or some kind of proof that you donated.

The choice of Habitat as the benefactor is twofold. First, they are still rebuilding New Orleans, and it costs about $85,000 to build one house. One family. Second, it was a charity that my mom was involved with in the St Louis area and one that she loved.

I can’t knit for everyone who donates, of course, so what I will do is draw two names – one person will get a pair of hand knit socks, one person will get a scarf hand knit by me*. Color preferences and pattern preferences will be taken into account. I would LOVE to be able to give away more items, but I’m only one person. This is what I know I can do. I hope that you can help.

Let’s give you until noon Central Time on August 20 to get your donations in and send me the reciept. I will draw the 2 names then.

Please, just do something. Thanks.

*Please also understand that these items will not be started until after the names are drawn and that knitting takes time (which you know if you’re a knitter). I will try to have the items completed by Christmas, but can’t guarantee it. I will, however, post periodic progress updates on the items here and on Ravelry.

Originally posted July 25, 2008 @ 11:30 pm.

One thought on “There is a time.

  1. Thank you for the support of my hometown. It is heartwarming to know that at least some of my fellow citizens still care. Truthfully, the spirit in the city is amazing. Nothing, except failed federals levees, will keep my city from rebuilding. It is the soul of this nation that worries me more these days. It is people like you and the beautiful volunteers that make me feel that maybe there is hope for its future too. Habitat is an excellent choice. The St. Bernard Project is another good choice. THANK YOU!!!!!

Comments are closed.