gimme the beat boys

There was a time when I would come here and pretty much vomit out whatever was going on in my head, good and bad. But then I got older and maybe a little wiser. And then I lost my job. Unemployment doesn’t make for very interesting blogging, at least it didn’t in my case. I spent my days looking for jobs, knitting, and going on interviews. There was so much knitting. Which means that, even with Ravelry, I blogged mostly about knitting or whatever crafty thing I was doing. And there’s still so much knitting and crafty stuff going on. There’s also random life going on.

Well-read
I finally picked up a book again just to read. I hadn’t really stopped, but it was hard to find something to keep my attention (or to take it away from the craftyness) long enough to get into. Right now I’m back into Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer. Probably just now hitting the same place I was when I stopped reading it last time (the loss of a parent thing was too close at the time, so I had to put it down). There are just lines in the book that I want to keep forever somehow. Remember them. Like “She had fallen in love so many times that she began to suspect she was not falling in love at all, but doing something much more ordinary.

Life
Since moving into my own place back in April, I’ve relished in my alone time. But I’ve also been lonely at points. There is just a longing I feel for something… or someone to be part of my life. Story of my life, really.

Work
I’m also still waiting for some job stuff to be resolved. So far I’ve gotten good news on that front, but things are moving so slowly that it’s really stressed me out. Seriously – it’s been almost 3 weeks since I last heard anything definite and it shouldn’t be taking this long for the next step.

School
Hey, I took the summer off from classes. On one hand, WOOOO!! On the other, I’m missing out on Social Epidemiology this summer. I’m again taking two classes in the fall, neither of which I’m very excited about. One is required, the other is an elective (but even electives are required at some level). The fall schedule was sparse – there were, I think, 4 classes available for me to take. If the work thing gets resolved I may add a third one in to my schedule if I think I can handle it. There’s just a lot of crap going down in my department at school right now (which includes a massive faculty exodus to the so-called greener pastures at Wash U). I don’t know how it will play out in the end, but I think it’ll be better to get done as soon as I can (or at least get my major classes done ASAP). Of course, all the stuff really escalated and went public after I decided to take the summer off. Naturally.

Health

I’m going to throw this out there just because it’s something I’m actively thinking about and trying to do. I am not trying to lose weight, but I am trying to eat healthier. Eventually, I also want to get into some kind of exercise routine (I use the term “exercise” loosely. I want to do something that I don’t hate that will get me into better shape). This means, of course, retraining a lifetime of not-so-good food habits into something resembling healthier eating. I’ve already switched away from huge meals and started doing a bit of portion control. The first rule of my non-diet is that I eat when I’m hungry. Just enough to satisfy my hungre, not so much that I’m stuffed or even full all the time.

Fin.
That’s the update. The whole long thing. The end.

2 thoughts on “gimme the beat boys

  1. Eating healthier is so hard! I thought it wouldn’t be so hard but I tend to crave all the bad things I’m trying to avoid (and love). Then I do eat them and I feel so guilty! I hate it.

    On the exercise front, you should try bicyclying. Get yourself a cute little bike (if you don’t already have one…Target has some cute bikes) and toodle around on it. You’d be surprised at how fun and easy it is…it’s like being a kid all over again! I love it! Get a basket too…you may look like a dork (I do) but you can carry everything: little dogs, lunch, keys, phone, etc.

Comments are closed.