you are beautiful

On Friday morning I woke up bright and early to catch a morning flight to Detroit. When I got there, 2 of the Stonecutters picked me up so we could head to a little cottage on Lake Huron to spend the weekend with 5 other Stonecutters.

First of all, I have to say that the weekend was amazing. It had been almost 3 years since we’d had a gathering and I was SO in need of it. These women are amazing and to be a part of this community for the last 7 years has been so fantastic. I’m reminded of that every time we get together – to spend time with the Stonecutters is to remember that there’s a group of women out there who totally have your back, no matter what. Women who, when one of you has a crazy idea, says “Yeah, I’m totally in” and goes with it until the end, where it becomes something wonderful and awesome, even though it’s still a little crazy. Even the girls who weren’t able to travel and be with us were there in spirit.

So, enough with the mushy stuff and now for the trip.

(photo heavy, so follow the jump)

I arrived around 1pm on Friday and called Cassie from the airport while I tried to find baggage claim. (FYI – the Detroit airport is hella confusing). I finally got to baggage claim and found my bag going round on the carousel with about 3 other bags that hadn’t been picked up yet. I grabbed the bag and realized I had 3 missed calls from Cassie telling me they had arrived at the airport. So, I hopped in the Stonecutter-mobile and we were off to find some lunch. While heading out, we saw a billboard for a Chocolate exhibition at the Henry Ford Museum and commented how cool it would be to see it.

We continued on the way and got off the highway to grab some lunch. As we got to the bottom of the exit ramp, there was a sign pointing the way to the Henry Ford Museum. Taking it as a sign that we were meant to see the exhibit, Kate drove on to the museum.

And it was cool. And I bought chocolate. Tasty tasty chocolate.
swag

P6200021.JPG

P6200019.JPG

P6200049.JPG

After a lunch of hotdogs at the Weinermobile Cafe (which is in the museum), we hit the road again, arriving at the cottage just before dinner.

A brief interjection – the reason for the gathering was Sally. Well, she was at least the impetus for it – she came to visit from London and her sister (who is lovely) lives in Detroit, so that’s why we met there.

Anyway, one of Sal’s favorite places to eat when she’s stateside is Red Lobster. So we dinnered there, then hit WalMart briefly (another of Sal’s fave stops) before heading back to the cottage for the night. We just all sat together and talked until the wee hours of the morning.

Saturday found us headed to Frankenmuth, where we hit up Bronner’s Christmas Wonderland, dined at the Bavarian Inn, & wandered the main part of town for the afternoon.

P6210094.JPG

P6210077.JPG

P6210109.JPG

P6210102.JPG

P6210123.JPG

During the drive, Sal introduced us to Mika, who I now enjoy thoroughly. We returned to the cottage, went a bit wild & crazy, then had fun doing a little karaoke (thanks to Jan, who brought books & cds) before we watched Juno.

Sunday morning came way too soon as we packed everyone up and left car by car. I spent Sunday with Tiff & Piney, getting up way too early this morning to catch my VERY early flight. I was home by 9am, which was nice.

I KNOW that I’m forgetting things. It was a great weekend with my girls, so much fun, and so awesome. So thanks to y’all for that.

There are also many more pictures here, and more to come soon.

6 thoughts on “you are beautiful

  1. Wow, I think I’m tired just reading all that (of course it could be ambien still in me :)).. what a busy weekend!

  2. i have been obsessed with mika ever since i heard him when i was in europe last year! so good! what’s with the christmas decorations? and stupid me…what are stonecutters?

  3. The Christmas decorations are at Bronner’s Christmas Wonderland, where it’s Christmas EVERY day.

    The Stonecutters are a group messageboard I joined about 7 years ago – several of us adopted the pseudonym when talking about the group on a more public forum like our blogs. :)

  4. Aw, you’re totally bringing me back. Frankenmuth is very close to my hometown. I used to go there all the time, and Bronner’s is definitely a long-time tradition. Fun stuff. Glad that you had a relaxing weekend with good company.

Comments are closed.