I'll eat my candy

Dear Anthony Bourdain,

I’ve been recently catching up on the episodes of No Reservations available on DVD. I would be all caught up on the series, but I haven’t had cable for the past 2 years. It didn’t seem worth it since I only missed seeing your show and the Cartoon Network.

I can’t tell you how excited I was to discover that the first 2 seasons were available on DVD. I’ve been thoroughly engrossed in them, devouring one episode after the other.

Tony (can I call you Tony?), I want to travel with you. You’re always able to find the places off the beaten path. When I travel, I find the places everyone goes to. And let me tell you, just because everyone goes there doesn’t mean it’s a fantastic place to eat.

But you don’t just find amazing food, you find the amazing places in general.* Your show makes me want to be a better traveler. I want to visit places outside of my comfort zone, places where English is not the primary language, and places where I can find and try foods that I wouldn’t normally have the chance to eat.

My basic rule of travel is this: Don’t eat somewhere if you can get the same thing at home. This means no McDonald’s. This does not mean no Starbucks, however. Because a Cinnamon Dolce Latte is always just around the corner. Not to say that I wouldn’t go to a local coffee place to get my fix, but sometimes you have like 2 minutes and there’s always a Starbucks.

I digress.

Should you ever find yourself in St. Louis, I would be happy to show you around. Or at least take you to one of many local eateries. I might even introduce you to the St. Louis style pizza, provel cheese and all. You don’t have to like it, but you do have to try it. The way the cheese sticks to the top of your mouth is an experience all its own.

In closing, I just want to say that you’re pretty awesome. I mean you have this amazing job where you get to travel and eat, you’re honest about what you see and eat, and on occasion you’ve been known to lose your mind a little bit. I love it. I can’t wait to see more.

Sincerely,
Kara


*Yes, I know – production staff helps with that, but still. Amazing.

