give me two more chances, you won't be denied

A week or so ago I found out that radio duo Steve & DC were breaking up. Granted I haven’t listened to them since the River flipped to MOViN* and before they were on the River, I hadn’t listened to them in a good 10+ years. I really have no feelings about the break-up at all, other than to remember when they first came to St. Louis back in the early 1990s.

I was in high school at the time and living in my hometown of Festus. For some reason, S&DC latched on to Festus as a city to make fun of (or at least talk about daily for a few weeks) even though they had never been there. I remember one morning they were particularly harsh on us – or at least that’s the way I saw it. They seemed to see Festus as an extension of their hometown and expected it to be a hick town with girls who drove pickup trucks.

I’m not saying that there weren’t girls who drove trucks there, they were just outnumbered by those of us who did not.

So, one morning as I was getting ready for school, they mentioned this pickup truck phenomenon and I called them. I don’t remember much of the conversation, but I do know that I was deeply offended by this assumption that we were a town of chawbacon**.

I was 16. I was easily offended and a bit snobby.

Anyway, I get them on the phone and try to explain my position. In turn, they tried to say that it wasn’t meant to be offensive, they liked girls who drove trucks. In the end, I don’t think either of us won the other over with our arguments. In fact, I’m still convinced that it was meant to be offensive, or at least meant to get a reaction out of the locals.

The discussion of Festus on their show did not end there, of course. Eventually, they came to town one Sunday morning after being invited by a local church to attend their Friendship Day. On Monday morning, they talked about us one last time – a bit shocked that Festus was a bigger town than they expected, but no longer able to make fun of us. Or at least they stopped making fun of Festus after that.

*Which , still, what the fuck? I need a River-like station in this town and not a station programmed around Hollaback Girl. This (and not being able to listen to The Point anywhere but my car) is why I don’t listen to radio in St. Louis.

**chawbacon: noun. bumpkin, hick. Also known as my favorite word that I don’t get to use nearly enough.

One thought on “give me two more chances, you won't be denied

Comments are closed.