half-cocked and fully loaded

New knitting pattern!

I was working on a test knit for The Plucky Knitter and I finished it up last night. Presenting the Punk Muffin Mitts & Hat. The name came from Mindy calling the mitts “mini muffins” instead of “mini mitts” and then me hours later trying to remember that and coming up with “punk muffin”. It stuck.

If you’re going to use Plucky Knitter DK Merino Cashmere, there is PLENTY of yarn to make both the mitts and the hat longer &/or bigger. I wasn’t sure how much yarn I’d need when I started, so I went shorter with the mitts than I needed to. I wound up with about 1/3 of the skein leftover.

Punk Muffin Hat & Mitts

Pattern after the jump.


Punk Muffin Mitt

Pattern: Punk Muffin Mitts
Materials:
Size 5 dpns
Plucky Knitter Merino/Cashmere dk weight yarn (approx 100 yds for length shown)

Pattern stitch (Seed Rib):
Row 1: *k3, p1* repeat to end
Row 2: k all stitches

Pattern:
CO 40 sts loosely
Divide onto 3 ndls for working in round
Work Seed Rib for 2 inches

Beg Gusset:
Round 1: Work in pattern to last 3 sts of ndl 1, pm, m1, k2, m1, pm, k1. Continue in pattern.
Round 2: Work in pattern to marker, slm, k sts between markers, slm, continue in pattern to end of round.
Round 3: Work in pattern to marker, slm, m1, k to marker, m1, slm, continue in pattern to end of round.

Repeat Round 2 & 3 until 14 sts between markers.
Next round: Work in pattern to marker, remove sts between markers to waste yarn. CO 2 sts in gap using backward loop method. Continue in pattern to end of round.

Continue in pattern as set for another 2 inches. BO loosely.

Thumb: place 14 sts from waste yarn onto 3 needles (6-6-2). With 3rd needle, pick up 4 sts in gap. Join for working in round. Work in stockinette for 4 rounds. BO loosely.

Weave in ends. Wear to keep the chill off in the office or classroom. Or when it’s not quite cold enough for gloves, but not warm enough for bare hands.

NOTE: When I was binding off, I found that no matter what I did, the bind off was way too tight for the mitts to be wearable. So I found and used the method described here by Grumperina and it worked fabulously.

I also used a Sz. 6 needle for my CO edge and a Sz. 7 to BO.

Additionally, this pattern makes (obviously) some short wristwarmers. You can always make them longer if you so desire. (In fact, next time I make them, I think I will make them longer.)

Punk Muffin Hat
The Punk Muffin Hat:
I have a bad habit of making hats too short (at least for my head), mostly because I can’t seem to gauge how much length my decreases and the top of my head will take up. So, this pattern is written as I made it. I would, of course, make it much longer next time.

Materials:
Sz. 5 needles – circular or dpns – whatever you want to use to work in the round
Plucky Knitter DK weight Merino Cashmere yarn

Pattern stitch (Seed Rib):
Row 1: *k3, p1* repeat to end
Row 2: k all stitches

Pattern:
CO 100 sts.
Join for working in round.
Work in Seed Rib pattern for 2 1/2 inches.
Continue in stockinette until hat measures 4 inches from CO edge.
Begin decrease rounds:
Round 1: k18, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 2: k even
Round 3: k17, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 4: k even.
Round 5: k18, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 6: k even
Round 7: k16, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 8: k even
Round 9: k15, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 10: k even
Round 11: k14, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 12: k even
Round 13: k13, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 14: k even
Round 15: k12, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 16: k even
Round 17: k11, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 18: k even
Round 19: k10, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 20: k even
Round 21: k9, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 22: k even
Round 23: k8, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 24: k7, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 25: k6, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 26: k5, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 27: k4, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 28: k3, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 29: k2, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 30: k1, k2tog. repeat to end of round
Round 31: k2tog. repeat to end of round.

Break yarn and draw through remaining stitches. Weave in ends. Wear, enjoy, & look awesome.

One thought on “half-cocked and fully loaded

Comments are closed.