take my hand and I'll pull you through

Today’s musical selection has me fast-forwarding just a couple years to approximately 1992. (There may be a flashback to 1989 again later, so don’t worry). These were the days that found me longing after boys with long hair. In fact, I still have a little residual of that today – every once in a while I see a cute boy with long hair like my local Starbucks barista. But that’s a different topic entirely.

One of my favorite “boys with long hair” bands was – wait for it – Nelson. Yes, I loved the blond twins. It’s entirely possible that I replaced my NKOTB posters with Nelson ones. There were so many holes in my bedroom walls from all the thumbtacks. I saw them in concert at least once (maybe twice) from the third row. It was, at the time, the closest I had ever been to the stage at a concert (at least seating-wise). And I loved it. At the young age of 16 or 17, it was fantastic. I had a great time, even if I do still have a small scar on my foot where I got stepped on by a woman wearing spike heels.*

Today’s YouTube selection is Nelson’s After the Rain.

Remember when videos were deep and full of meaning? Or at least we thought they were. And full of angst. Oh, wait. Music wasn’t all that angst-y in 1992. It was just starting to get there. But I digress.

Again, I remember being SO excited when this video came out. Oh, the shiny long jackets and leather pants.

I remember the boys being very popular then, right before grunge took over the world, but they didn’t quite inspire the mass hysteria that NKOTB did. Perhaps it was because we were a bit older fan base, maybe they just took too long to get the next album out. Who knows what it was. But it was fun while it lasted.

Side note: For those of you that watched Rock Star: INXS, did you know that the leader/director of the house band was the keyboardist for Nelson? Yeah. That was fun to realize while watching the show.

I’ll pick up again Monday with someone else I saw in concert in the late 80s/early 90s.

*I never did understand the purpose of wearing heels to a concert where you were going to be standing for at least a couple hours. I may have worn nicer shoes than sneakers, but they were still comfy enough to stand and walk in.

2 thoughts on “take my hand and I'll pull you through

  1. Embarrassing confession: I actually met the Nelson twins. My cousin and I waited outside a radio station where they were doing an interview to get autographs. They were very polite. And blond.

  2. Dude, I LOVED Nelson. That was the first concert I ever went to, actually.

    Perhaps, even after all of our underwear-lounging differences, we can find common ground in the beautiful, beautiful music of Nelson.

    I hope so. Because I can’t live without your love and affection.

    (I’m sorry. It had to be done.)

Comments are closed.