you heard me in my tune

Phoenix Trip, Part Two:
Stop...in the name of cactus
Me between 2 very large Saguaro Cacti. I have no idea what I was doing in this picture, but I really like it for no good reason.

Friday I went to the Desert Botanical Garden (hereafter the DBG) in Phoenix with my cousin Becky, her cute 4-month old daughter and Becky’s brother-in-law. Even though they lived in Phoenix, they had never been.

So. There were a lot of cactus. A LOT. The DBG is a very large garden, and being in the desert it has a lot of the plants of the area. Of course, you can also see a lot of them just driving around the area.

Here are some pictures of our trip:
PC280635.JPG
Octopus Cactus

PC280645.JPG
Part of the Childhood Dreams Exhibition.

PC280665.JPG

funky folds

Becky & Me
Me & Becky with the Saguaro Cacti.

After the trip to DBG, Becky & I got ready for the rehearsal dinner. Friends & neighbors of Christy & Monte (the wedding couple) were throwing the dinner, which they also cooked. It was Mexican food (the chef is originally from Mexico) and they went easy on the spices for us folks not from the Southwest, but it was sooooooo goooooood. Yum. I wanted to eat more and more and more of it, but that would have been inappropriate. Mostly because I wanted to stick my face in the food. Mmm, tasty.

Next entry: The wedding, visit to other family, and the trip home.

One thought on “you heard me in my tune

  1. I love the Phoenix area (though I’m not crazy ’bout the city itself) and the DBG is awesome. Next time, go to the Herd Indian Museum. VERY interesting place.

    Glad you had a good trip! I like the pics. :)

    Annie

Comments are closed.