make the season bright

I’m planning on doing some holiday baking this year since I have a lot of free time. It’s been a while since I did the cookie baking thing and I’m a little excited. I may go overboard, in fact. I tend to do things BIG when I do them.

I just took an inventory of the baking supplies in the house so I don’t buy stuff that’s already here. I’m encouraging my friends to join me in the baking frenzy. It’s insanity.

So far I’m planning on making the following:
Chocolate Chip Cookies
Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
Jess’s Lipstick Granola Cruncher Cookies
Ray Ray Cookies (family recipe)
Chocolate Chip Coconut Cookies

Because of above mentioned doing things BIG, I’m also looking for a couple more ideas. Possibly a peanut butter cookie (I did just get a recipe from one of the stonecutters that sounds good, but it has chocolate involved and I’d like another chocolate-free recipe), maybe some gooey butter cookies (possibly these).

Let’s do an interactive post today – What are your favorite holiday cookies (or other tasty baked items)? If you have the recipe handy, go ahead and stick it in the comments too (or give it a little link).

3 thoughts on “make the season bright

  1. Last time I counted mom and I made somewhere around a dozen different types of cookies for Xmas. I don’t have the recipes with me but our favorites are Oatmeal Raspberry (or Apricot) bars, Chow Mein Haystacks, Grape Nut Cookies, Snickerdoodles, and Aunt Amy’s cookies which are kind of a thin lacy cookie that’s very crisp and you roll them while warm into a tube. You can find most of the recipes by googling, but I can look them up at home if you want.

  2. Mmm…

    My favorites in no particular order: peanut blossoms, plain old sugar cutout cookies with fun icing, butterscotch haystacks, raisin filled cookies (my grandma makes them every year for the family, even though she hates raisins…she makes apricot ones too), and I’m always happy with the basics like choc. chip, oatmeal raisin, and snickerdoodles. I also like to make cranberry orange biscotti for Christmas. This year I want to make some scones, too, for shits and giggles!

  3. I like the basics. I’ll do chocolate chips, but people expect something fancier or the holidays. I have a sort-of chocolate chip recipe that adds dried cherries, coconut and rum extract to the mix, but I’ve only done it successfully once.

Comments are closed.