Down on Main Street

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; } .flickr-yourcomment { } .flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; } .flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }

LaJade Theater, originally uploaded by Star Monkeybrass.

I was in Gunsmoke today for a haircut, so I took a couple pictures while in town.

When I was a kid, this was the movie theater in town – the La Jade Theater on Main Street. I remember seeing a few movies there before the Gunsmoke Multiplex built their five (then eight) screen theater on the outskirts of town.

The LaJade was also the home, albeit very briefly, of the dollar show in town.

More recently, it’s been the home of various churches. It appears that it’s still the home to one of them, although I wonder if it may have been somewhat damaged by the huge fire that took out the building a couple doors down.

2 thoughts on “Down on Main Street

  1. Before that, it was the Miller theatre (until it burned down in the early 70’s)

    My Dad took me to see Tora, Tora, Tora there in 1970 I think.

Comments are closed.