Day Three: On the Radio

In which I want to sit in my car all weekend just to be able to listen to the radio.

I was out running a couple errands this morning/afternoon and listening to the Point (as I always do when I’m in the car). Imagine my joy when I discovered that they are doing a “Wayback Weekend”. Songs from the 90s. The music I went to high school and college to. The music I spent summers working at Six Flags and listening to. Music from when 101.1 was still The River and one of my favorite stations. Music from before I got jaded and bitter. Or, um, maybe from while I was becoming bitter.

This music – the 90s – it’s part of what made me who I am. It defines so much of the generation I grew up in. Grunge, the beginning of Alternative when it was still the alternative to the mainstream, Nirvana, Nine Inch Nails, Alice In Chains, Weezer, Garbage, Live, Stone Temple Pilots (before Scott Weiland was too strung out to work), even Everclear and Art Alexakis’ daddy issues. This is what I love. The music that reminds me that I was once an awkward and nerdy teenager.

Not that I’m not still a bit awkward and nerdy, of course.

Yes, there is music today that I love, music that is different than it was then. But back then – that’s when I realized the depth of my love for music. I’ve always loved music, but the 90s is when it really cemented. Not when I was young and still listening to Debbie Gibson and the New Kids, not before that when I was singing along to Forever In Blue Jeans, not even when I bought my first record. The 90s were the time when it all came together. And I’m so glad it did.

Which is why today’s song of the day is not just one song, but a playlist of songs from one year in that time period. 1994 – the year after I graduated from high school, when I discovered Tori Amos and Nine Inch Nails, when I started to come out of my cocoon.

1. Cornflake Girl – Tori Amos
2. Fall Down – Toad the Wet Sprocket
3. Rock & Roll Star – Oasis
4. Who Will Save Your Soul – Jewel
5. Selling the Drama – Live
6. She Don’t Use Jelly – The Flaming Lips
7. All Apologies (Unplugged) – Nirvana
8. Buddy Holly – Weezer
9. Past the Mission – Tori Amos
10. Closer – Nine Inch Nails
11. Sober – Tool
12. Possession – Sarah McLachlan
13. Last Goodbye – Jeff Buckley
14. Girls & Boys – Blur
15. Basket Case – Green Day
16. Come Out & Play – Offspring

4 thoughts on “Day Three: On the Radio

  1. Don’t know you, but I too am a loyal point listener and haven’t tuned my radio away from the Wayback Weekend. I was a bit younger, middle school, early high school, when most of these songs were big, but it has been such a trip in the Wayback machine for me. I listened to it at work and most of the kids I work with (late teens, early 20s) weren’t familiar with most of the songs and kept begging me to turn on the hip-hop station. I was glad to impart some musical wisdom upon them.

    ANDREA

  2. Do they still do the retro lunch? I’m more an 80s than a 90s girl. I know Les Aaron ended up at KDHX — I think he still has a show there late at night, playing probably all the stuff he wishes he could have played at the Point.

  3. No, it’s the My Shuffle lunch now or something like that. I think Les Aaron still does New Music Sunday, too. I didn’t know he was at KDHX, too.

    I like the 80s, too, but I was more into Neil Diamond and the New Kids in the 80s. Not something I should probably admit publicly, huh?

  4. Wow. This is a great post! Ok where to begin…well, like Kara just said, I am more of an 80’s girl than 90’s, although more like Poison and Ratt and Bullet Boys and Metalica and yes, Debbie Gibson and Phil Collins and Guns and Roses baby!

    (Kara to answer your question, no, I wouldn’t admit that LOL J/K)

    But what you have described in this great post sounds every bit like something our parents would say about the music of their generation. It’s how we all feel connected to our pasts, it reminds us of times gone by, coming of age. It’s great!!! Cherish those memories…there’s another generation getting ready to rave about today’s music making them come out of their cocoon! LOL

Comments are closed.