I'm here all the time

I spent the better portion of my day in Gunsmoke, where I lunched with Dad, got an oil change, stopped by to pick up my contacts and say hi to a very busy Amy, etc.

While I was there, I also stopped at the Evil Empire to pick up a couple things. *shudder*

For whatever reason, when I go to the Gunsmoke Supercenter I have to psych myself up. Chaos seems to reign in this particular WalMart. There is no quick in and out of the store for juice, there’s no rules for cart driving that are followed, the whole store doesn’t make a lot of sense.

Today, however, I toughened up and braved the store. And, well, it wasn’t too bad. Except for my madcap cart driving that had me almost get creamed by 2 other carts (It’s like trying to cross a busy street – there’s no good way to do it). I survived, got everything on my list, and got the hell out of there. Now I’m probably set for another 6 weeks (or 6 months) without a trip to any WalMart.

In other random news, I have reached the point in my unemployment where I am reverting back to the job that doesn’t have anything to do with my education. Yes, folks, that’s right – it’s time to go back to work in the eye business. I applied for one job tonight, I have a couple places I’m just going to send my resume to just in case they’re hiring, and I have one crappy-ass cover letter in the works.

Oh, the cover letter. It is the bane of my job-seeking existence. I never know how much to say or what not to say. Do I mention former optometrists I’ve worked with as possible references? Who do I use as the reference for the first few years I was in the business when a relative was my boss? Just how much exercise will I get being on my feet all day again?

I need a job. I am poor and have a cat to feed. And an education to pay for.

3 thoughts on “I'm here all the time

  1. hey kara–if you want me to give your cover letter a once over I’d be happy to. I know you’re probably a good writer, but it never hurts to have a 2nd pair of eyes.

Comments are closed.