You want to put the marshmallows in concentric circles…

Last night I made the first batch of chili for the season. It was fantastic, meatless, and totally kosher.

I took a recipe I had from a Stonecutter cookbook and modified it to include veggie crumbles instead of ground beef. I also had to modify the spices a little because (a) I’m not sure if Tony Chachere’s is kosher and (b) I didn’t have taco seasoning. So I subbed some Emeril’s Original Essence for the Tony’s and a package of onion soup for the taco seasoning. Also subbed water for the broth.

Here’s the recipe as I made it, if I can remember:

Heat up a tablespoon of oil in large pot.
Dice up one half an onion. Put that and some chopped up garlic (1-3 cloves worth) in the pot and sautee for about a minute.
Add your veggie crumbles and stir, heating the crumbles for a couple minutes.
Then add your spices (to taste) – one package onion soup mix, 1-2 teaspoons Emeril’s Essence, 1-2 teaspoons salt, some chili powder, oregano, and parsley. Mix and let sautee for a couple minutes, but keep stirring.
Next you add your tomatoes – I used 3 14.5 oz cans of Red Gold tomatoes – 1 crushed, 1 diced with garlic and something or other, 1 diced with chilis – and about a cup (or a tomato can full) of water. Stir it all up again, bring to a boil, then reduce your heat a bit and let it simmer (covered) for about 30 minutes.
Taste it and see if you need to add anything to your spices. Do whatever your tongue tells you to.
Now you need your beans – 1 can Red Kidney, 1 can Black Beans, 1 can Great Northern Beans. Make sure you rinse them before you put ’em in the chili.
After you’ve rinsed the beans, dump them in the pot and stir it up again. Let your chili cook for another 15 minutes.
Serve up and enjoy. I also like to sprinkle mine with a little grated cheese.

Leftovers freeze really well if you have any. Y’know, if you didn’t stick your head in the pot and lick it clean.

Now I just need to find a good chicken noodle soup recipe and I’m set for winter.

