I'm writing you to catch you up on places I've been

In the past 2 weeks, 3 people I know have lost parental figures – 1 father and 2 father-in-laws. The circumstances around all are upsetting in and of themselves, but the loss of someone you care about so much is so hard.

I can’t help but read emails or messages updating us on the situations and get a little emotional. I think that having lost a parent I understand more what these women are going through and how much you can miss someone. All of it happening around this time of year just makes it stand out a little more in my mind.

Last Saturday before I dropped the ring down the vent, I was looking for a picture or something mom-related to post. I don’t have a lot of pictures of mom from the digital camera age, most of what I have needs to be digitized in order to share. While I was looking through things, I had a little cry because I realized all over again that I can’t just call her up and talk to her.

My mom was a pretty amazing person and I still miss her. Crazy, yes, but amazing. I can only imagine how difficult it is for these other three women to deal with the deaths in their families right now and for them I sympathize. It does get easier, but sometimes it’ll hit you out of left field and you’ll have a little cry even 2 (or 5 or 10) years later.

2 thoughts on “I'm writing you to catch you up on places I've been

  1. I can only thank you for your support. As you said to me in a Comment, it’s a new normal you return to – I wholly agree. Kevin isn’t there yet. Things are just weird, but continuing.
    And thank you boatloads for your love and support Kara. Many hugs to you!

Comments are closed.