happy birthday to me, and to you

Happy Fourth of July, y’all!

I know, there are a lot of updates to talk about, but I’m going with the birthday first. Note cool swag, which I will talk about in a minute.

First off, thanks to everyone for the birthday wishes. They’re always much appreciated.

The day started out way too early since I had to be in class by 8:30 in the morning. I was home by 10:30, though. After a brief nap, I went to try to make a yarn decision at Knitorious, where I left with one tiny skein of yarn (top left corner of photo – Urban Silk in Ivory) and the desire to make something, anything, out of the Debbie Bliss Pure Silk.

After a brief trip to Gunsmoke for my eyeballs, Mindy and I headed back to Knitorious where I bought enough of the Pure Silk (with my gift certificate) to make myself a top. And I still have money left to spend. Sweet.

Dinner and drinks were way fun, huge thanks to everyone who came out (and didn’t let me pay for anything). It was a blast! I would share pictures, but I left my camera and phone at home on my bed. Smart.

At Absolutli Goosed, I started to work my way through the Coffee Drinks menu, but I only got 3 of 8 down before I felt the need to cut myself off. I’ll pick up where I left off next time.


Okay, the swag – I’ve already mentioned the Urban Silk in the left corner, below that are stitch markers and the iKnit bumper sticker from Mindy, Lush soapy goodness from Rina, some Ashabee’s sock yarn in total Kara colors – I love the pink – from Kathy, the Pure Silk I splurged on (so soft) and the Pirate-y knitter t-shirt also from Mindy. I also scored a gift certificate to The Loopy Ewe from Angie, which I can’t wait to spend once the next shop update happens.

Moving on to explain the job thing. Oy. So, the project I was hired to work on did not get funded, so I was supposed to be unemployed in April (hence the previous job drama). They were able to extend my position until July 20. During that time, I was able to help out before coworker S left and also apply for another position in the current workplace.

So, anyway, not to give too many details, I’m looking for other work. I sent in my resume for another job in the same general area (would be moving to another group within the same organization) and scheduled an interview with them yesterday (for next Thursday). I’m being proactive now and looking for work, not sure what I’ll find. I’m sure there’s something out there, though.

And that is the story – as much of it as I’m willing to share in a public place, at least.

One thought on “happy birthday to me, and to you

Comments are closed.