'cause it's good for my voice

So, I went to the dermatologist yesterday for the first time ever because I wanted to get a mole checked out.*

Anyway, while I was there, we also talked about my acne. Because I am almost 32 years old and have been dealing with what is quite possibly the worst acne of my life. This is the price I pay for not having it too bad when I was in high school. You know, when I didn’t take care of my skin. Ever.

I was prescribed a gel and antibiotic to help me clear up the skin and today I went to get the scripts filled. I got the antibiotic with no problems, but the gel?

Apparently, according to my insurance, I am too old to need acne treatment.

No, really? I’m too old? I think so myself, but it’d be nice if we could convince my skin of that. In the meantime, gimme my damn Differin, you bastards.

*It’s nothing, apparently, just an intradermal nevus and apparently not something that I need to worry about. But, you know, sometimes you just have to get things checked out just in case. Because skin cancer is the most common form of cancer in the US and 1 in 5 people in the US will develop skin cancer in their lifetime. Add to that the risk factors I have – fair skin, have had a couple REALLY bad sunburns in my lifetime, the summer I spent tanning – It’s just better to get it checked out and have it be nothing.

Besides, May is Skin Cancer Awareness month. Get yourself checked out if you’re at risk or if you have anything funky lookin’ on your skin.

/end Public Service Announcement.

3 thoughts on “'cause it's good for my voice

  1. My dermatologist and I are very close.

    And too old for acne treatment? Ridiculous! If you’ve got chronic acne, you’ve got it. Believe me, your pores don’t look at the calendar.

Comments are closed.