all mixed up in the wash

Today, instead of just pictures of random things, an interview from Dixie.

1. Hearing on the car radio We’ll Sing in the Sunshine by Gale Garnett is one of my earliest memories. What’s your earliest musical memory?
My earliest musical memory is one that I think spoke volumes about what would become my insane love of music. I can’t remember how old I was, but I’m guessing around 4. I loved Neil Diamond’s Forever In Blue Jeans so much that I wore out my mom’s record playing it so often. I’d sing and dance to it. Multiple times a day if I had the chance. So, the ‘rents bought me a 45 of it, which I played on my little kiddie record player (I seem to remember it being plastic and it’s possible that the turntable was pink) every day, singing and dancing along.

Come to think of it, that song could also be the reason I spend nearly every day in a pair of blue jeans. :)

2. How are you about doing things alone? Going out to eat, go to the movies, etc. Do you do it? Enjoy it?
I do it every once in a while. Sometimes I like to go out to a restaurant with a book and eat a meal. Movies aren’t bad alone, either. Unless it’s a bad movie or a scary one and you just really need someone sitting next to you that you can poke and say “Did You See That?!?!”

I’ve also gone to a few concerts alone, which are kinda fun. The last one was when I saw the Red Hot Chili Peppers in January. Sometimes that’s a reason to strike up a conversation with the person next to you. So, RHCP was a good experience.

I’ve unfortunately also had a not as great experience with the alone concert going, but that’s more because my concert going person bailed on me without bothering to contact me, so I had an empty seat to my left. Ugh, so annoying. That was when I saw NIN in October 2005. There was also a bit of a boring section in the middle when I caught myself making a mental list of everything that I needed to do when I got home that night, so I bailed early. Kinda regret that now, but it was a good decision at the time. (And I have seen NIN since then, so it’s not as sad that I missed half the show.)

3. I’ve loved the Beatles my whole life. Who was your first musical passion?
Excellent question. I’ll admit that I was the perfect age to jump on that New Kids on the Block bandwagon in the late 80s and they were also the first band I saw in concert multiple times. But I don’t think I’d consider them my first musical passion.

I would have to go with Neil Diamond, at least the one song. I still have a bit of a fondness for him — at least for his more popular songs.

4. It’s been over a year since you turned thirty. What about being in your thirties has surprised you?
How much I still feel like I’m 24? I’m in this very strange place where I don’t quite have the career sorted, I’m in grad school AGAIN, and things are still very much in flux. I don’t know – I think I always imagined that by the time I was 3o, I’d have it all sorted out. I’d have a family (even if it just was a guy and our pets), I’d have a career, etc.

On the other hand, I feel much more adult now. I think that is more a function of what I’ve had to deal with in the past almost 2 years — my Mom’s illness and passing just a couple months after I turned 3o, the general changes in life, the current job uncertainty, etc. I feel much better equipped to handle anything thrown my way at this point, more than I did 10 years ago.

5. I know you love knitting. Do you have a supreme goal sort of project that you declare you’ll knit one of these days?
A sweater. One of these days I will actually knit myself a sweater. It will be lovely and I will wear it often.

I also happen to have a sweater’s worth of KnitPicks Andean Silk in Hollyberry, but I’m not sure it will become the sweater. It’s nice yarn and a nice color, but I don’t think it’s quite right for me. I like the maroony color, but I’m torn.

Now it’s your turn to play if you wish:

Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.” I will respond by asking you five questions in the comments here on this post so check back here. I get to pick the questions. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

14 thoughts on “all mixed up in the wash

  1. KD and Mai – I will be happy to interview you. Questions will be posted here later today.

    Joe – that’s funny. :)

  2. I always say I’m going to knit the Folly sweater from Knitty and now that I’ve learned how to knit socks, I think I could tackle that sweater. I just may do it.

    Can’t wait to follow over to who you interview and read their responses. I find these fascinating to read.

  3. Alrighty, folks. It might take me the weekend to come up with questions for y’all, but I’m going in order.

    So, today at least, The Diva of Karaoke gets her questions.

    1. Since you’re a scrapbooker and a NIN fan, here’s a choice question: you have the opportunity to either spend an evening in your favorite scrapbooking store getting whatever items you want. Money is no object, so you can take anything they have home with you. But the only evening this special “Karaoke Diva” sale is happening, you have also won dinner with Trent Reznor – just you and Trent at a local restaurant. He’s only in town for the one night and neither the sale or dinner can be rescheduled, nor can you have dinner at the scrapbooking store. What do you do and why?

    2. I’m stealing a question from Dixie’s interview of me. What is your earliest musical memory?

    3. What is your favorite all time book and why? What book was your favorite as a child (and do you still count it among your favorites now)?

    4. I always said that if American Idol held auditions in St. Louis and I was the proper age, I would have auditioned, even though I know I wouldn’t have made it to seeing Randy, Paula, and Simon (because I wasn’t good enough OR bad enough for that). If you were to audition (age not being a factor), how far do you think you’d make it on the show?

    5. Finally, what is your favorite concert memory?

  4. And questions for Mai

    1. You seem to be a conqueror of all things knitting, but you haven’t been knitting all that long (if my memory serves right). What made you decide to pick up the needles and make that first project? What was the first project?

    2. Standard question everyone gets because I like it: What is your earliest musical memory?

    3. I have always wanted to go to Australia for a few months to travel around and see someplace different. If you could travel anywhere in the world without worrying about a language barrier, job, etc, where would you want to go?

    4. How does your yarn stash look? Is it out of control (like mine) or does everything you buy have an assigned project?

    5. When you were growing up, where did you see yourself at this age?

  5. Okay, questions for Deborah (Mindy I’ll have to come back to. I’m still thinking).

    1. I see that one of your favorite books is Alice in Wonderland. Coincidentally, it’s also a favorite of mine. What is it about Alice in Wonderland that makes it a favorite?

    2. How long have you been knitting? How’d you learn, all that jazz. :)

    3. What is your favorite childhood memory?

    4. Standard question – What is your earliest musical memory?

    5. You have a time machine and can either go visit 30 years into the future or any time period in the past. What do you do and why?

  6. Questions for Mindy:

    1. Why won’t Riley Pants shut the hell up?

    2. Yarn Dyeing, knitting, scrapbooking – have you met a hobby you didn’t like?

    3. What’s your earliest musical memory?

    4. What’s your favorite book and why?

    5. Now that you’ve adopted Mildew the Cat, would you consider rescuing another stray cat in a similar situation?

  7. And finally, questions for Nicole:

    1. Let’s talk about yarn. How’s your stash look? Do you have plans for everything in your stash? What is your favorite completed project?

    2. Standard question: What’s your earliest musical memory?

    3. I like finding out about the favorite book, too. So what’s your favorite book? Do you have a favorite you remember from childhood?

    4. What has been your favorite thing and least favorite thing about wedding planning?

    5. If you could buy any kind of car, what would you want to drive?

Comments are closed.