when I'm lying awake at night

Project Bookworm* is moving forward. I finished a reread of Harry Potter the Sixth last week and started a few other books.

I had to give up on Octavian Nothing last night. I was over 30 pages in and just not feeling it. I don’t know if it was the short chapters, the writing style, the lack of any idea about what was going on or what was going to happen, but I just could not get into it. I wanted to like it, too. But life is too short to read books I’m not into.

I did, however, start reading Middlesex, which I’m actually enjoying. I’m not very deep into it yet, but it’s good so far.** I did love Jeffrey Eugenides previous book (the Virgin Suicides – I’ve already discussed that), so it’s no wonder I’m into this one. He just has a way of drawing you into the story without you needing to know what will happen next.

Finally, a bookworm returns.

Knitty updates are now relegated to Tuesdays. I think they’re better there – I never have anything to talk about on Tuesdays.

And for those of you keeping track, the new NIN album Year Zero hits stores tomorrow. I’ll be picking it up tomorrow during my trip to Target.


*The new name for my desire to read as much as possible.

**This is why I don’t write book reviews. I can’t accurately describe books or the sensation of reading.

4 thoughts on “when I'm lying awake at night

  1. “But life is too short to read books I’m not into.” So so true!

    BTW, I already have “Year Zero”. ;-)

  2. I can’t describe the sensation of reading either. I either like the book, or don’t.

    I read, or started to read, Middlesex a few years ago, and I found myself plodding through it that I just gave up. (And I really liked Virgin Suicides, too). Maybe I should give it another try.

  3. I really enjoyed Middlesex. The beginning where they’re in Greece is a little strange, but it picks up very quickly.

Comments are closed.