don't write yourself off yet

I miss reading for pleasure.

When I was young, I used to devour books. I’d go to the library with my dad and check out a huge stack of books, only to have the librarians ask my dad if he was sure I’d read all those in 2 weeks. When we showed up 3 days later for a new stack, well, they quit asking and I became a familiar face. I was always getting books to read. Always. Loved reading. I couldn’t put things down.

Remember those reading programs you had in elementary school? We could win certificates for making it “around the world” or whatever by reading so many pages or books, the big prize was a free personal pan pizza at Pizza Hut. I used to always get like 5 of those because I read so much.

This voracious reading continued through college and grad school, although it did slow down during the actual semesters. I once read The Virgin Suicides* on recommendation and couldn’t put it down for 3 days – not even to eat dinner. I couldn’t decide if I loved it or hated it, but I couldn’t stop reading it.**

Lately, though, I haven’t found or taken the time to read books as much. There’s knitting to be done, the internet to surf, people to email, homework to do… Somehow the reading has been the hobby to get sent to the guillotine while I’ve been too busy doing everything else. I currently have so many books in the reading queue that I don’t even know where to start.

In order to get back to reading for pleasure, I think it would be a good idea if I set aside a bit of time at night before I go to bed. Turn off the computer and grab a book. Catch up on my classics, and new stuff, and the long long list of things I want to read but had to return to the library unread. Baby steps. Half an hour. Starting tonight. I’ll let you know how it goes. Hopefully it won’t end up with me bleary-eyed at work because I was up until 2am reading the best book in the world.***


*This was before the movie version was even a glimmer in Sofia Coppola’s eye, and I refuse to see the movie for fear they have destroyed the story. Although I did have to eventually purchase the movie tie-in version of the book because it was the only one I could find.

**I remember my mom asking if it was a good book at dinner, to which I responded “Eh, don’t know yet.” with my nose pressed firmly into the book. I loved it, if you couldn’t figure that out from the first star.

***Because I am also the person who can’t stop reading a really good book.

6 thoughts on “don't write yourself off yet

  1. Here is a suggestion if your looking for a classic. Sir Gawain and the Green Knight by Chauncer. Newish The Cell by Stephen King.

    I feel the same way. When I read I too devour books, when I am busy it is the first hobby to suffer.

    Happy Reading

  2. I got those prizes too, in elementary school. I loved those personal pan pizzas!

    That’s been the one thing to suffer since I’ve been taking my architecture exams. I buy books, but they just sit around while I look at them longingly, wanting to read only them, instead reading about lateral forces or mechanical crap that I don’t even care about. *sigh*

    I hope the madness ends soon!

    On a more peaceful note, have you heard the new Tori yet?

  3. Heh. I was that kid too. Once your queue thins out a bit, I have several recommendations for you. ;)

  4. It was BookIt! I still have the buttons/pins or whatever they used to give out as prizes along the way to the personal pan pizzas!

    I used to read a lot too. Grad school and knitting have gotten in the way as well. :(

  5. Well I am just loving the book you mailed to me. I too am not reading like I did as a kid. Now I sit and watch tv. I vow to read more.

    Cassie

Comments are closed.