you want it, you got it

Once again, the weekend was not nearly long enough for my liking. I accomplished quite a bit, but could have used a bit more down time.

Friday, Mindy and I met up with friend and fellow Stonecutter Stacey at the Atomic Cowboy, which was fun. I don’t get to see Stacey nearly often enough, even though we live less than 10 miles from each other. Nearly 3 hours later, we dragged our tired butts home and knitted. Or slept. I can’t remember which.

Saturday was errands, knitting, and movie watching. Apparently, the movie to watch this weekend was The Prestige, as it was a topic of discussion at knitting on Sunday. I’m still not sure how I feel about the movie, but I’m glad I watched it. We also watched For Your Consideration, which was fine, but not as funny as I’d hoped it would be.

Sunday was, of course, knitting group once I dragged my sorry ass out of bed at noon. Then we came home and I had a burst of energy that required me to finish doing a bit of cleaning/organizing. For some reason, the organizing meant that I needed to clean out my closet and go through all my clothes. I know have a big bag of clothes to donate and a smaller, but still substantial, pile of stuff either never or rarely worn that I’m going to attempt to sell on ebay.

I actually have accomplished quite a bit on the knitting in the past few days – I started two pair of socks and earlier in the week had started a feather and fan scarf out of Koigu.

flame wave socks

These are the Flame Wave pattern from Interweave’s Favorite Socks book (which I love). I wasn’t sure about the pattern at first, but now that I’ve completed an entire pattern repeat, I quite like it.

Daffydill socks

These are from some Lorna’s Laces I recently acquired. Yes, I broke the yarn diet, but it was such a Springtime color and different than what I usually have that I had to get it. These are going to be just a basic sock in stockinette, possibly with a short row heel. The colorway is Daffodil, so I’ll be calling them my Daffydil socks.

feather and fan

Finally, the feather & fan scarf. I don’t have a lot done yet and I am making a scarf out of Koigu sock yarn, but that’s okay. The weather is warming up and I just don’t want to work with the Malbrigo right now, which is what most of my other on the needles projects are. The sock yarn is still wool, but it’s so much lighter to work with as the weather warms up.

And now I must get ready to go to work, right after I decide if I’m really going to wear this sweater today.

2 thoughts on “you want it, you got it

  1. What did you think of The Prestige? I thought at first that it would be better than The Illusionist, which also came out this year, but I was able to figure out the main plot twist right away and thought the whole supernatural thing defied reason (an oxymoron, I know). It also violated a cardinal rule of storytelling–characters simply disappeared. What happened to Scarlett Johanson?

  2. I did kind of figure out the main plot twist, but only because I was confused by the back and forth in time aspects of the movie. :P

    I wondered the same thing about ScarJo’s character, as well as The Great Danton’s double. He just disappeared, too.

    All of the characters were completely unsympathetic, too, which doesn’t make for a feel-good film. :)

    I’m still not sure how I felt about it. I was compelled to keep watching the movie, but don’t have a desire to see it again.

Comments are closed.