everything around her is a silver pool of light

Happy Fat Tuesday evening, y’all!

So, even though I’m not Catholic, I’m taking the opportunity to give up a couple things for Lent. These are both things I will miss quite a bit and, well, both will probably be good for me in the end.

more sock yarnFirst up is the yarn problem. Today I recieved 10 skeins of sock yarn in the mail. Granted 4 of them are meant to be a feather & fan scarf, but still….too much yarn.

So, I am giving up buying yarn. When I am tempted by some lovely yarn (sock or otherwise), I won’t be purchasing it.

Second, I will be giving up the convienence of fast food. So, I will go noplace with a drive-thru except Starbucks (because coffee doesn’t count as fast food). Also included is pizza delivery, at least at home.* This will be more difficult than the previous fast food boycotts because I am hella busy during the week now with 2 classes, homework, and working a full 40 hours a week. Next Monday will be the true test of this, as I’m headed from work to my study group and I need to find dinner on the way. Or make something in the morning I can grab and go with later.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to continue the no fast food thing well past the 40 days. The yarn, well, I can’t guarantee that part, but I’m going to work really hard on working through my stash before I go buying more of the stuff. Especially since I’ve been slowly amassing enough sock yarn to outfit myself in a different pair of hand knit socks every day for at least 2 weeks.


*I can’t force my “no pizza delivery” on my study group, should it come down to a dinnertime session of homework and we need food. So, that will be the exception to the rule here.

4 thoughts on “everything around her is a silver pool of light

  1. Oh, yeah, I know all the nutritional info on my beloved Cinnamon Dolce Latte. I have actually been forcing myself to go there less. I can’t forgo it completely – that’s where my knitting group meets. :) So, the goal is no more than 3 times a week including the knitting group.

    Of course, once the weather gets warmer, I want hot drinks less and less, so the problem really solves itself. :)

  2. My bulging sock yarn stash is why I had to join Knit-From-Your-Stash 2007 and adjust the rules to fit me and have my sock yarn count as being off limits. It’s hard though. I mean I have sock yarn – enough to knit socks for pretty much the rest of the year without buying more but I do miss the excitement of getting some really yummy sock yarn in a gorgeous colorway.

    You’re got some pretty stuff there!

Comments are closed.