if I can make it there, I'll make it anywhere

So, tonight? I finished the first real sock* – one I can actually wear.

Sock #1 - front viewI am offishully a sock knitter. The kitchener stitch was oddly satisfying. And even though it’s only half a pair, I feel a sense of accomplishment. I have knitted myself something other than cold-weather wear. I have made a sock.

Of course there are a few mistakes and I corrected more than a few dropped stitches, and it is in no way the perfect sock. But it’s mine and I made it.

I don’t know why, but this simple act of making a sock has got me feeling like I can conquer just about anything in the knitting world.

*Yarn and pattern info for those who care – Koigu KPPPM, instructions were for basic socks from knitty’s Socks 101 & Sensational Knitted Socks book, the pattern is the woven rib from Sensational Socks. Fantastic kitchener stitch instructions also from knitty.

2 thoughts on “if I can make it there, I'll make it anywhere

  1. I kid you not – knitting my first sock gave me a sense of accomplishment that I hadn’t experienced in many years. I think it was because I had longed to learn to knit socks and was convinced that it was too difficult for me. When I finally taught myself all I could think was “I did it! I really did it all by myself!”. I don’t think I’ve been that excited over learning how to do something I didn’t think I’d ever learn since I learned to drive a manual transmission back when I was fifteen years old.

    Congratulations! Prepare to be addicted!

Comments are closed.