I've got a recording of early man on drums…*

So, in addition to the library being a great way to save money on books, I’ve also just discovered it’s also a fantastic way to save money on music. There is a plethora of audio out there just waiting for me to sample it. Artists I’m interested in hearing for the first time, but I’m not willing to spend money on just in case they aren’t good are now at my fingertips.

As if I wasn’t music geeky enough, I now have access to a little bit of everything. I feel like I should take full advantage of this discovery and look into the best artists that I don’t know.

The question is, where do I start?

Seriously, help a girl out here. Who are some of your favorites I might not know and why should I check them out?

*quote courtesy of Duane, who thinks I have too much music. But really, is there such a thing as too much music?

4 thoughts on “I've got a recording of early man on drums…*

  1. That is a brilliant title… Oh wait, I came up with it :-)

    My girl Kara has recordings of Johnny Cash before he started wearing black, Trent Reznor when his nail was only 5 inches & Dolly Parton when she was still an A cup.

    She is my heroine.

  2. The library is the source of all good things. Well, at least books, music and movies. Catalog-able good things.

    I’m afraid you are much much more of a music geek than I will ever be so I don’t think I’d be of much use, but The Decemberists and John Vanderslice are in heavy rotation on Jessmonster (the ipod, not the person) these days.

Comments are closed.