something happens to you

There are certain fashion items that should never return from history, especially the 1980s/1990s – tight rolling your blue jeans, shaker sweaters, neon anything, hypercolor t-shirts, stirrup pants & leggings.

Leggings? Really? There are not very many people in the world that can actually pull that look off and the fact that they are back in style is just problematic. No matter how great your ass is, I don’t need to see it in a pair of leggings. There’s a reason sweaters came down to our knees in the 80s, people.

But this? Man leggings? That’s just never going to be a good look, I don’t care who you are. Seriously? Man leggings? I’m in a suspended state of disbelief about the existence of man leggings.

10 thoughts on “something happens to you

  1. You know the only time you should be male and wearing leggings is if you’re the prince of Denmark and you’re contemplating offing your uncle who murdered your father so he could marry your mother.

  2. Baryshnikov. He can wear leggings. But normal guys like, say, my husband? If I can’t wear leggings, he most certainly cannot wear leggings. And I will NOT be wearing leggings other than as PJs with a giant sweatshirt.

  3. This was the part that really got to me – not the fashion leggings, but this: “I know a lot of guys who wear leggings around the home.” WTF? I can’t imagine any male of my aquaintance wearing leggings around the house.

  4. Leggings for men is not a new trend – one that’s been around for years. It’s time to get over the body image constraints and go for the comfort. Just wear them. Leggings are perfect casual wear for women AND men. Having worn leggings for years, I’m aware of people’s comments both negative and very positive. After all, it’s not the leggings on the man but the man in the leggings. Everyone looks good in leggings and some people look great!
    If more people, women and men, wear leggings then it will just be another apparel choice. At one time denim jeans were worn only by miners digging for gold. Now they are everywhere.
    So never say never – when you do decide to wear leggings, choose a well made pair – not with cotton fibers that bag out over time but a high tech fiber that retains its shape. Go for the comfort and support. Leggings that go to the ankle look better than capri style that chop the leg. Plus the full length leggings support you from your ankle to your waist and give you an energetic lift. Laugh, Live, Love & Enjoy! Check out UnJeans.com
    UnJeans Freedom Pants – clothes of the future and the future just started.

  5. Okay, let’s get this straight – no matter how well a pair of leggings is made, they will NOT look good on a chubby girl. I carry some extra weight and I don’t think that anyone wants to see my flab in skin tight pants. I know I don’t want to see that.

  6. In response to the last post, it comes to the question of what “looks good.” The human body comes in a plethora of permutations. That we should all be the “ideal” of what “they” say we should be is ludicrous. The UnJeans Neighborhood champions everyone for who they are, not some societal “perfection.” I have been amazed over the years at people that are “physically fit” that feel that they are lacking in their body attributes to feel comfortable in wearing leggings in a public setting because of their self-perceived “deficiencies.” It is time to shake off the body image constraints and experience as many UnJeans wearers relate – “a body liberation.” Life is too short – Laugh, Live, Love and Enjoy!

  7. I know what you mean…a lot of people don’t think my horse placenta hats “look good”. That’s such a relative term, ya know? I mean, sure a lot of people have never seen a hat fashioned from a horse placenta before, but I’m sure blue jeans wigged a lot of people out when efforts to make them mainstream first, um, happened. It’s not like it’s a LIVE horse placenta either. These are stillborn horses, for one thing, second, they’re dried and preserved in such a way that, if you didn’t know any better, you’d think my hats were made out of raw leather, suede, or possibly paper. I’m still working on my site–garyshorsehats.com–I’ll let you know when it’s up. Leggings AND horse placenta hats…hey, I’m open to it. Why not?

  8. In the name of all that does not suck… I do not want to see some guys “package” as he walks down the street.

    While I’m here, let me add to the list of male fashion no-no’s: 1)Thongs for men 2) any kind of mesh shirt 3)speedos @ a public beach

Comments are closed.