dancin' where the evening fell

I think we need to stop defining music by genre.

Lately, I find that I’m not as opposed to country as I used to be. Sure, there’s still a whole host of country music stars that I can’t stand – Faith Hill, Tim McGraw*, Kenny Chesney… the list goes on. But there’s also some people I kinda like even in the newish country world.

Anyway, this genre definition – it throws me off sometimes. I’ll be listening to something I would consider Rock only to find it’s classified elsewhere (*cough*iTunes) as Country, then I can listen to something I think is Country that’s considered Rock elsewhere.

C’mon, Johnny Cash gets airplay on The Point – everything alternative, indeed.

I realized a long time ago that I couldn’t define my musical tastes by a specific genre – I’m all over the place. But when I’m in the mood for something with twang, I apparently can’t just cue up the Country genre on Ferris the iPod and go with it.

Now, if you don’t mind, I’m going to go listen to those nice U2 boys. I think they’re filed under Classical.


*Who deserves to be beaten about the head and body for the atrocity that is his version of Ryan Adam’s When the Stars Go Blue. What did the world do to deserve that, Tim? Why you gotta ruin a perfect song like that?

One thought on “dancin' where the evening fell

Comments are closed.