as we trim the tree

I have been bad this year about buying Christmas gifts. Actually, I’ve been bad about remembering that it’s almost Christmas* and that I need to buy gifts, some of which need shipped to far off lands like…Cincinatti.

Finally, yesterday I realized that I really really needed to buy stuff and ship it to said friend in Cincy so she would have some Christmas cheer coming from St. Louis. So, I took a little time at lunch and did some online shopping and had it sent her way. I was finally feeling on the ball with my Christmas shopping.


It must have been kismet or something because I came home to a large box of goodies waiting for me. I opened it to find a box full of monkeys! We all know that I love the monkeys for some strange reason, and look! A whole box of them!I like monkeysNot all the monkeys in the picture were in the box, but it was quite full of cute monkeys.

After opening the box of monkeys, I had to run some errands, including a trip back to the salon I went to last weekend to return some stuff. I swear there was an interesting story there somewhere.

We also made the most pleasant Wal-Mart trip ever – the trick is apparently to go there at 6:30 or so on a Thursday night. Who knew? It wasn’t too busy and things were easy to find because I wasn’t getting run over by people with cart rage.**

Have I mentioned how I love the World Market? After dinner at Bandana’s, we stopped by there before hopping back on the highway. It’s an eclectic store, but my favorite part is the food section. Ok, really, my favorite part is the candy section because they have a lot of candy from other countries that’s difficult to find. Although I stopped there last night for a Toblerone and they were out of the milk chocolate ones. I did find the tasty and addicting Ritter Sport bars with cornflakes, though. But, yeah, I love perusing all the chocolate bars from ’round the world and looking at everything else.

Anyway, there’s really not much going on right now. Final on Monday, need to finish the gift scarf in the next few days so I can wash it a couple times to soften up the yarn before I give it away, all that jazz. So, on with the Christmas Shuffle:

  1. All I Want For Christmas (Is My Two Front Teeth) – The Chipmunks
  2. Sleigh Ride – Brian Setzer Orchestra
  3. What Child Is This? – SHeDaisy
  4. Frosty the Snowman – Harry Connick, Jr.
  5. Santa Baby – Kylie Minogue
  6. White Christmas – Bing Crosby
  7. This Christmas – Christina Aguilera
  8. Wintersong – Sarah McLachlan
  9. Sleigh Ride – Diana Krall
  10. Baby It’s Cold Outside – Leon Redbone & Zooey Deschanel

*It’s been nearly 70 degrees this week. In December. How am I supposed to remember that it’s almost Christmas if Mother Nature can’t remember that it’s winter?

**Just like road rage, only it happens at Wal-Mart.

One thought on “as we trim the tree

  1. I’m so glad you like the monkeys. I got my presents too, but I’m holding off on opening them until Christmas Eve. I love the suspense.
    Lots of hugs to you!

Comments are closed.